Upcoming Events

04/26/2025
Open House & Recruitment

View All Events

2025 Incidents
Fire EMS
Jan 36 88
Feb
Mar
Apr
May
Jun
Jul
Aug
Sept
Oct
Nov
Dec
Total 36 88

2024 Incidents
Fire EMS
Jan 38 94
Feb 20 67
Mar 29 60
Apr 28 74
May 36 81
Jun 30 70
Jul 27 91
Aug 83 81
Sept 32 82
Oct 25 90
Nov 32 75
Dec 47 74
Total 427 939

Web Counters
Website Visitors
Since
August 5, 2024
111,396
Visitors Today
Mar 25, 2025
320

The St. James Volunteer Fire Department has a rich and storied history dating back to its organization in 1909 by Mr. T. Edward Ellis as the Eagle Hook & Ladder Co. Initially located on Woodlawn Avenue, the firehouse served the community until the early 1920s. However, as the hand-drawn equipment became outdated, interest in the company waned.

A turning point came during the Christmas holiday of 1921, when a devastating fire destroyed a home. This incident galvanized local citizens to raise funds for new equipment and a firehouse. The first significant purchase was a Model T combination pump and ladder with 1,000 feet of hose, costing $1,500. This new fire truck was housed in a small metal garage on property donated by Mr. Butler, where the main house stands today.

The revitalized fire department was officially launched on March 8, 1922, with John O’Berry serving as the first Chief. As the town of St. James grew, so did the fire department. In 1922, a new firehouse was constructed at the intersection of North Country Road and Lake Avenue, and in 1923, Mr. Butler donated the engine room floor for the current building. The volunteers built the second floor of the firehouse, and later, an additional wing was added.

The department continued to modernize its equipment, purchasing a Reo Pumper in 1924. The Model T pumper, after many years of service, was replaced in 1932 by a Seagrave pumper and subsequently sold to the Holtsville Fire Department and later to the Gordon Heights Department.

The formation of the St. James Fire District in 1935 marked a significant milestone, as it relieved the volunteers of the burden of fundraising for new equipment. Previously, funds were raised through annual carnivals, which featured parades, circus acts, and vaudeville performances. These events were the highlight of the year, despite the additional expenses for bands and ambulance corps.

One of the department's most significant contributions was the drum and bugle band formed in the early 1930s by Professor Psota, who also conducted the Suffolk Symphony. The band, originally known as the “Royal Aires,” consisted mostly of members with little or no musical training. The band disbanded during World War II but was reorganized post-war as the “Saints,” growing to 68 members.

The department's "Wildcat" racing team, founded in 1932, gained fame by winning numerous championships, including the New York State Championship titles in 1957, 1966, 1971, and 1972, amassing thousands of trophies over the years.

Membership in the St. James Fire Department averaged between 50 to 60 men before World War II. In October 1956, the ambulance corps was organized and began operations with a new ambulance costing $1,700 the following month.

In 1970, the fire district expanded by constructing a substation at Jefferson Ave. and Woodlawn Ave. to house additional apparatus.

Today, the St. James Volunteer Fire Department boasts 100 active members, equipped with three pumpers, one aerial platform, one brush truck, one heavy rescue truck, three ambulances, two EMS first responder cars, and four chief’s cars. The department continues its proud tradition of service and dedication to the community.

 

Website Designed and Hosted By: Content Proudly Maintained By: Contact Info:
Firehouse Solutions
www.FirehouseSolutions.com
St James Fire Department
P.O. Box 2129
St James, NY 11780
Emergency Dial 911
Non-Emergency: (631) 584-5760
E-mail: info@stjamesfd.org
Copyright © 2025 Firehouse Solutions (A Service of Technology Reflections, Inc.)